A special message

Today my dear cousin Steve Evans passed away from Leukemia and Graft vs. Host Disease.  I want to pay a special tribute to he and his sweet wife Taryn for all the courage they have shown over the last 5 years.  Their lessons to us in Sunday School and their examples to us in our lives means so much to me.  Steve’s last testimony was witnessing about the Savior, the Atonement, and about our purpose here on earth.  He is and always will be an amazing person; we will miss him so greatly.  Our prayers are with Taryn and all of their families.

 

It was a blessing that this week we have had a chance to talk about the pre-existence and our purpose on earth.  Last time David had some questions about the pre-existence, so we gave him some scriptures to look up—some in the Bible, Book of Mormon, and Doctrine & Covenants. Since he listens to the scriptures online rather than reading them he had to listen to the entire chapter or section since he couldn’t just find the verse. He must have liked what he read in the D&C because after listening to the sections that had the references we gave him, he started from section 1, and was all the way through section 54 when we saw him a few days later. As of last night, he was in Section 76. Wow! We were not expecting that and it was so good for him to hear. He is reading along, and waiting for his answer. We tried one more quitting-smoking program with him, but it wasn’t really the right thing for him, so we have decided to go back to teaching the doctrine.

 

Last night’s lesson was interesting. I thought it went well, and I really felt the spirit helping me to see what his needs were as I listened to him, and asked him questions. Sister Rollins was working to teach him the rest of the Plan of Salvation and she even brought a white-board to draw it out. I felt so much love for him from the Savior the whole time.  I felt that the Spirit was guiding me in what I was saying to him, and felt like I was prompted to just listen for a bit. Some of his main concerns came out, that we didn’t even know he had. I guessed at those concerns before, but now that he has voiced them, I know they really do need to be addressed, namely the fact that he says he can see Christ in us– he saw Christ in his father. He believes in Christ, but he says he doesn’t feel it like we do. He wants to feel it so badly! He told us he needs to have the foundation of the testimony that Joseph Smith was a prophet before he can go on to other things. He told us that he would like to slow down a little bit so he can take it one bite at a time.  I really do have such love for him and I know Sister Rollins loves him too. But guess what! He CAME TO CHURCH yesterday! He liked it a lot, and many people came up to him and said ‘Hi”! He only stayed for sacrament meeting, but he wants to come again and stay longer. He is progressing! He told us last night that he is a kinetic learner– hopefully the action steps of coming to church will help him to gain a testimony of the restored gospel. I have never taught anyone who learned kinetically (I myself learn visually), but we will be putting our heads together to learn how to better teach David. I bore my testimony to him about the Savior.

 

We saw our new investigator family this week and we had a wonderful time visiting with them! They have many questions, and Josh knows a lot about the church—He knows about the Pearl of Great Price and the scroll of Abraham. We are not sure if he knows that information from an anti-Mormon source, but he is open to learning. Both he and his wife said yes to the baptismal invite, if they knew it was true. Josh said that if he knew it was true he would be “accountable to God to act”. We have a standing appointment at 7:00pm on Tuesday nights. They are both very knowledgeable when it comes to the scriptures. They ask a lot of great questions, and they have tons of potential!

 

There wasn’t much more than that this week, because I was sick for a few of the days 😦  By the way, I got a flu shot! I started getting sick the day I got the shot. But it wasn’t FROM the shot, I woke up feeling like I had a cold coming on…I had a little fever for a couple of days, which I thought was odd (that part might have been from the flu shot), but I’m basically better now, so back to work!

 

I’ve got to go now, but I love you! I will talk to you later. Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures this week.

Love,

Carrie

 

P.S. Mom I got the postcard from the Vatican! I can’t believe it came all the way from Italy! I loved getting those cards from around the world. How amazing! I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

