From Sept 8, 2014

Sister Burgess and I

Sister Burgess and I

 

Transfers are in! Sister Burgess is leaving and I am staying!

 

PLUS the sisters we were living with are both being transferred, AND their area is being closed, so me and my new companion will have a huge town-home all to ourselves. This is going to be so weird…

 

BUT the town-home is old and… old, so it’s not the lap of luxury or anything. I am kind of relieved though. I like it so much more when it’s just me and my companion.

 

They are having to close sisters’ areas because there aren’t as many sisters as there used to be. The initial wave of sisters is diminuendo-ing.

 

This Sunday we are teaching the High-Priests again … so interesting.  Never thought I’d be doing that!  We are teaching them how to study out of Preach My Gospel.  We are using Chapter 6 “Developing Christ-like attributes” and studying “Faith” with them.  I might be singing for them too … not sure yet!  But I’ll let you know how the lesson goes.  This will be my 2nd time teaching them.

 

We have started teaching a very devout Catholic person.  I’ve never met a Catholic who was this devoted before, who practices every bit, every rust, every admonition.  It’s definitely a different experience for me.  Most people we teach aren’t very attached to their church, or even believe or know all the doctrine their church teaches, but just attend because it’s the closest or most convenient, or most entertaining.  Anyway, the biggest challenge teaching her is definitely the Great Apostasy of the world.  We are focusing on the Book of Mormon because if she gains a testimony of that, she will know there had to be an apostasy.

 

I have some pictures for you!

 

Sister Burgess and I with the Ross Family.  They are amazing!  We love teaching them so much.

Sister Burgess and I with the Ross Family. They are amazing! We love teaching them so much.

 

This is us and the Allred family! Their kids were really excited to take pictures, and a little squirmy. So cute!

This is us and the Allred family! Their kids were really excited to take pictures, and a little squirmy. So cute!

 

DSCF1601

 

DSCF1605

 

DSCF1606

 

DSCF1603

 

 

A frog sitting on the porch of one of our recent-converts. It was the biggest frog I've seen in the wild!

A frog sitting on the porch of one of our recent-converts. It was the biggest frog I’ve seen in the wild!

 

 

This Llama wall hanging is in one of the member’s homes, and it is from LIMA PERU! They used to live there (military). Lots of Peruvian things! They said they lived near the temple… I can’t remember the name, but I bet Hannah knows exactly where that is!

 

DSCF1588

 

This HUGE grasshopper sat on our hood for white a while, even while we were driving 45 mph down the road. No idea how it stayed on, but it makes for interesting pictures!

DSCF1583

 

By the way, I sang at Zone Meeting on Saturday. Once again the Zone Leaders forgot to ask me in-advance, but that’s ok because I’m not sick anymore! So I was able to pull something together last-minute. I sang ‘Our Savior’s Love’. I really do love that song.

 

I love you so much! I have to go now, but I’m think about you all the time!

 

Love,

Sister Hollberg

 

Leave a Reply

