It’s a new week!

We had a baptism on Saturday!!! Lexi was baptized, then confirmed on Sunday. What a neat and special event. Her non-member Dad was at the Baptism (but not the confirmation). I played the piano for the service (big surprise haha!) and we taught the Restoration to the group while she was changing. There were 83 people at the baptism!!! That’s almost the size of a regular sacrament meeting service. Crazy! We are so happy for her and her family. 🙂

Sister Gale is my new companion, and she is wonderful! She is from Utah, went to Bingham High School, and this is her second area. She served in her last area for 6 months! Crazy. ALMOST EVERYONE in the mission go moved around, or switched up. It’s a big change for us all, but it’s one we can handle! She is going to fit in here 🙂

Sister Gale and I

Sister Gale and I

 

I love this story President Monson shared in his BYU Devotional (That you should listen to):

 

“I share with you an example of two individuals who let their lights shine and whose good works were recognized and appreciated. Several years ago I received a letter from a lady whom I did not know but who chose me, for whatever reason, to write to concerning the example of two members of the Church who had had an influence for good in her life.

Her letter began, “Dear President Monson,” and then she wrote:

I would like to commend two of your church members for their extraordinary compassion and faith. I am a practicing Catholic and grew up in Salt Lake City. Oftentimes, as a youth, I remember feeling ostracized by the other children who lived on our block because I was not a member of the LDS Church. I must admit that this impression has stuck with me for many years, until my encounter with Rick and Dan McIntosh. Last year my sister’s husband, Tom Brown, was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor and was given one year to live. He passed away last week. Of course neither my sister nor her husband are members of your church. For the past year, Rick, who is the bishop of the ward close to my sister, and Dan have spent countless hours with my sister and her family. They have prayed numerous times for Tom, and their wives have brought food to the house. They shoveled the walks in the winter. And each time they have come they have asked my sister if there was anything she needed or that they could do. And they meant it. It was not important to them that my family was not LDS. Tom was their neighbor and their friend, and they were there to do whatever they could to help. These two men truly live their faith, and I felt deeply moved by their compassion and example. From one who used to indulge in Mormon bashing, I am writing this letter to tell you that through the example of these two men, not only will I never again criticize the LDS faith, but I will not allow it to be criticized in front of me. Your church has my deepest respect.”

 

http://speeches.byu.edu/?act=viewitem&id=2004

 

Well I have to go now, but I love you all so much!  Have a great day!  I love you!

Love, Sister Hollberg

 

Pictures from this past week!

Last night with Sister Ence

Last night with Sister Ence

 

Sister Ence and Argenis at McDonald's where we have lessons sometimes if we don't have another person with us.

Sister Ence and Argenis at McDonald’s where we have lessons sometimes if we don’t have another person with us.

 

Sister Ence and Caeser

Sister Ence and Caeser

 

with Vatasha and Jackie

with Vatasha and Jackie

 

the Harrisons, Sister Harrison is our Relief Society President.

the Harrisons, Sister Harrison is our Relief Society President.

 

Our bishop gave the missionaries flowers on Valentines Day!  So sweet!

Our bishop gave the missionaries flowers on Valentines Day! So sweet!

 

DSCF0443

 

 

Sister Ence and I messing around

Sister Ence and I messing around

"Tight, like unto a dish"

“Tight, like unto a dish”

 

 

Sister Ence and I went to Golfsmith on our last P-day together!  It was very fun.  I just have to say that Tom and Sister Ence would be best friends.  Sister Ence not only loves to golf (and is pretty good), but she is a HUGE Packers fan, lives in WI, and can talk sports.  She’s going to do so well in her next area.

DSCF0415

DSCF0413

 

One thought on “It’s a new week!

  1. Hi Caroline or Sister Hollberg
    I think I have finally found out how to e mail you!!! You are such a great missionary, I love reading your blog every week . You are so spiritual and loving, I’ll bet everyone loves you out there.. I hope you will receive this note. We love you so much
    Grandma Lois

Leave a Reply

